ramanda's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ding dong, the witch is dead

03.08.04

11:04am

Remember this time two years ago, when I was miserable and lonely and working a job I didn't understand for a woman I hated?

I don't work for her anymore, but I do work with her. Or I did. Until this morning when she got fired. It's strange to see something come full circle like this. To see someone get fired for the same bullshit they've been pulling for more than two years. I'm not surprised. Anyone with half a brain could see it coming. But it's still a shitty way to start the week.

Sandra. She was, in general, a pretty cool person. She was nice enough, and always told the funniest stories, waving her hands wildly in the way that only Italian women do. She was also a nightmare to work with. She never wrote anything down. She changed her mind constantly. She'd drop the ball and stand there looking innocent, acting like it wasn't her fault while the rest of us rushed to pick of the pieces. Despite all of that, I still liked her. Despite all her faults, she really knew how to negotiate deadlines, how to buy us more time when we really needed it, how to push us to come through for the customer, how to sell our core programs when they came screaming for custom content.

I suppose it's all in what you get used to. She was difficult to work with, but we'd all grown accustomed to that. Now there will be someone new to get used to, a new personality to understand, a new way of doing things, new rules of engagement. It will be better I'm sure (because pretty much anything would be better), but it's still a little scary. Familiar always seems safer, even when the familiar isn't always ideal.

If nothing else, she taught me things. Working for her taught me to be independent, to make decisions for myself, to jump in headfirst and hope for the best. It's always better to work for someone who supports you, but at the same time there is something to be said for someone who forces you out of your comfort zone. I've been thinking a lot about my comfort zone lately, and how I tend to wrap myself in it like a big, fuzzy blanket and huddle there. That, I suppose is another entry entirely.

Note to self: Come back later, or tomorrow and think that through, because it's just one in a long list of entries that need desperately to be written.

Best of luck Miss Sandra. Things around here are probably going to be a whole lot easier from here on out, but I'd put money on the fact that they won't be quite as interesting.

You've got a boatload of nerve
But I would say you've been told
You work me against my friends
And you'll get left out in the cold
It's the same mistake

It's been a long time running
It's been a long time coming
It's well worth the wait

-A

11:04 a.m. - 03.08.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theotherman
dulligirl
marn
narcissa
natty-kate