ramanda's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wave your hands in the air, shake your derriere

02.13.04

7:33pm

I studied English at the university level for four years and I still don�t have the words to express how grateful I am to everyone who came out Saturday night to help Danno and I celebrate our 26th birthday.

At one point I leaned on the bar chatting with the bartender as she mixed me yet another rye and coke. She smiled and said, �This is some birthday party.� And she�s right. It totally was.

I spent the evening wandering table-to-table, drink in hand, smiling and laughing non-stop. Every time I turned around there was another smiling face, another hug to give, or another fun conversation to wander into. I feel like I didn�t talk to anyone because I spent the night trying to make sure I talked to everyone.

As the evening wore on we pushed some tables against the wall and made room for dancing. I rocked out to Get Out of My Dreams (And Into My Car) and line danced to Achy Breaky Heart. We grooved to K-OS. Dan and Jodie had a dance-off. We whirled around and sang at the top of our lungs to Home for Rest. At least until I rolled my ankle. After which I sang along and limped drunkenly around the dance floor.

Dan took me home somewhere around 1:00am. He helped me up the stairs and into a cab. He helped me get my boots off. He iced my ankle and tucked me into bed. That boy never ceases to amaze me. He is so sweet and so much fun that sometimes I feel like I should smack myself in the forehead for not being in love with him. Perhaps that will come. Maybe it won�t. In the interim it is nice to catch him smiling at me from across the room. It is even nicer to curl up with him in bed for a mid-afternoon nap.

I think what I was trying to say here got lost a little bit. The truth is that I really don�t have the words to express the colour and the beauty and the sweet, simple perfection that is gathering all the people you love in a room for a couple hours at a time. I think the reason I make such a big fuss over my birthday is not so much because I really care about my birthday, but because I never feel more alive than when I�m surrounded by the people who make my life worth living.

Special thanks to Cameron for DJ�ing. Thank you for giving up drinking and socializing to stand in a corner and play all my favourite songs for me. One of the best moments of the evening was standing at the bar, catching your eye as I bopped my head to Start Me Up.

My undying love to Kristin and Andrew for driving hours and hours from Montreal to come to my birthday party. I will never, ever, be able to repay you for the way my heart soared when you two walked into the room. Best.birthday present.ever.

Big ups to Steve Starsky and Goldie Hutch and to � of the 70 Melbourne Sluggers for providing the entertainment for the evening. Aviators, what?

To everyone who came out Saturday night, thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and the pit of my stomach and the furthest reaches of my soul. Thank you for the gifts and the cards and the drinks. Thank each and every one of you for helping me to reaffirm my belief that life is not meant to be lived, but celebrated.

-A

6:49 p.m. - 02.13.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theotherman
dulligirl
marn
narcissa
natty-kate