ramanda's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

baby, it's a beggar being bitten by this bug

02.21.05

2:43pm

I read about Hunter S. Thompson's death this morning. And I wanted to post about it. But I didn't just want to link to the article I read about his suicide, you know, for the sake of linking it. I wanted to have something to say. Something that would be a fitting tribute. But I didn't have the words.

Dave did. And so I link to his entry. Because it conveys exactly what I was too grief-dumb to say.

Jon gave me a copy of the The Rum Diary for my 23rd birthday. I fell in love on the first page. It was one of those books you read and as you read it you sit back to wonder at how perfect it seems, how synchronistic that you happen to be reading that book at the particular time in your life. That book helped me to understand my own panic, boredom and rampant alcoholism (interspersed with chronic pot-smoking). It reminded me that being confused was not just part of being 23, but a part of life and that drinking to escape it wasn't always a good idea. Even if sometimes it was the only idea.

I regret to say I haven't gotten around to reading anything else by Thompson. It is sad to think that his death will probably inspire me to do so.

As I read this article this morning, Hawksley Workman's Lethal And Young played through my headphones. Another fitting tribute, perhaps.

it's been fun destroying our bodies
it's been great just being together
crash another car
smoke another cigarette
and make love to all our favorites on the radio
'cause we don't know how to make it go
we were only told how to burn it down
and then skip town
so don't look so damn tragic
you knew this had to end
so don't look so damn tragic in front of your poor mother
she brought you here and now you have to stay.. to stay
so be thankful that you're in love
be thankful that you're in pieces
'cause, baby, it's a beggar being bitten by this bug
after all you're all young
you're all lethal and young

RIP Hunter.

-A

2:43 p.m. - 02.21.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theotherman
dulligirl
marn
narcissa
natty-kate