ramanda's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and your lips burn wild; thrown from the face of a child

03.16.05

11:22am

I took one of those online tests! And I'm going to post the results in my online diary! I'm 15 years old! Do I get bonus points because it's a test about English proficiency and not a test to tell me which guy on the O.C. I should hook up with?

English Genius
You scored 100% Beginner, 93% Intermediate, 87% Advanced, and 83% Expert!
You did so extremely well, even I can't find a word to describe your excellence! You have the uncommon intelligence necessary to understand things that most people don't. You have an extensive vocabulary, and you're not afraid to use it properly! Way to go!

Thank you so much for taking my test. I hope you enjoyed it!

For the complete Answer Key, visit my blog: http://shortredhead78.blogspot.com/.


My test tracked 4 variables How you compared to other people your age and gender:
You scored higher than 61% on Beginner
You scored higher than 26% on Intermediate
You scored higher than 20% on Advanced
You scored higher than 87% on Expert
Link: The Commonly Confused Words Test written by shortredhead78 on Ok Cupid

Holler at your girl!

Speaking of English proficiency. . . did I ever tell you about the ELPE? The English Language Proficiency Exam (ELPE) is a requirement for a lot of undergraduate programs at UW. You were required to write the ELPE if you had a mark of less than 80% in OAC English, or if you were in Applied Studies (as I was) they made you write it anyway. Out of spite, maybe?

Aside: Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm pretty sure a lot of the requirements of the Applied Studies program were made up by sadistic faculty members. Possibly while high.

"We'll make them all take Intro to Management Accounting!"

"And, ooooh look at this! This textbook weighs about 80 pounds. This is the one! We'll have to make sure the instructors demand that all students bring their textbooks to class."

"Oh yes! And we'll make all the classes on the 4th floor of the math building! At 8:30 in the morning!"

{insert gales of hysterical laughter here}

But I digress! The ELPE! During frosh week they herd you into the gym and make you write an essay that proves or disproves a given statement. I can't remember what mine was. Something about war? Absolute power corrupts absolutely? Or something equally as banal. I remember the question paper was goldenrod. In any case. You write your little essay and go on your merry way. Then, a couple weeks later they post the marks. When I checked my mark in the Applied Studies office a couple weeks later I was surprised (to say the least!) that I had failed.

Fail? Me? The girl who got a perfect mark on her OAC English independent study? The girl who got a special award when she graduated high-school because I had more English credits than anyone else in my graduating class? Me fail English? That's unpossible! But fail I did. I was kinda distraught about it at first. But eventually I just got pissed off. And by the end of my first year I had earned As in both the English courses I took. So I appealed. I wanted to see my essay. I wanted them to re-mark it. They wouldn't, of course. But they did waive the re-write requirement, making me the only Applied Studies student to graduate from UW without ever actually satisfying the ELPE requirement.

Oh wait! I didn't actually graduate from Applied Studies. But that's a story for another time.


8:18am

Because yesterday brought no content of any real value (worked out, went to work, birthday present shopping, laundry, dinner, House*, bed) I thought I'd toss you a list of all the songs I listened to yesterday.

  1. Bad Company - Feel Like Makin Love
  2. Mrs. Jesus - Tori Amos
  3. Kiss - Prince
  4. Tease - Method Man ft. Chinky
  5. Hot Rockin' - Judas Priest
  6. Like Dylan in the Movies - Belle & Sebastian
  7. Inoculated City - the Clash
  8. Waitress - Live
  9. Is This What You Wanted - Leonard Cohen
  10. Party To Damascus Remix - Wyclef Jean ft. Missy Elliott
  11. Twenty Four Hours - Joy Division
  12. Where My Girls At? - 702
  13. Nothingman - Pearl Jam
  14. Gimme The Loot - The Notorious B.I.G.
  15. Livin It Up (ft Case) - Ja Rule
  16. Photo Jenny - Belle & Sebastian
  17. Easy Like Sunday Morning - The Commodores
  18. Holiday - Green Day
  19. Starman - Seu Jorge, which prompted me to listen to the entire Life Aquatic soundtrack
  20. Jimmy the Exploder - the White Stripes, which prompted me to listen to their self-titled - god I LOVE this record!
  21. City Boy Blues - M�tley Cr�e
  22. Ten Seconds to Love - M�tley Cr�e
  23. Danger - M�tley Cr�e
  24. Home Sweet Home - M�tley Cr�e
  25. I'll Back You Up - Dave Matthews Band
  26. If 6 was 9 - Tori Amos
  27. The View - Modest Mouse
  28. Sex as a Weapon - Pat Benatar
  29. Marcus Said - Sloan
  30. One More Cup of Coffee - the White Stripes
  31. Tillsonburg - Stompin' Tom (holler at your boy!)
  32. The Boogie That Be - Black Eyed Peas
  33. Mr. Jones (Acoustic) - Counting Crows
  34. Sleep Now in the Fire - Rage Against the Machine
  35. Fuel - Metallica
  36. Still of the Night - Whitesnake, which prompted me to listen to their greatest hits, obv
  37. Hot and Wet - 112 ft. Ludacris
  38. Vivrant Thing - Qtip
  39. Lose My Breath - Destiny's Child
  40. Soldier - Destiny's Child
  41. Zither - REM

At which point I switched over to listening to my new favourite internet radio station.

Tonight, on the other hand, I'm going to RENT with Julia and Kim and a girl from Julia's dance class. And maybe an assortment of boyfriends as well? I can't quite remember. Either way, RENT! As Mike would say: Ima sited.

-A

* I friggin LOVE this show. I used to say that 24 was the only hour of television I cared about. Now I also care about this hour. Seriously. It's CSI meets ER, though without all the gore and the lame interpersonal drama. I was actually surprised earlier this season to discover that ER is still on. The hell? Really? I stopped watching it about six years ago when I got tired of watching them intubate people. House though. Watch it! There's just enough interaction between the characters to make you care about them, but not so much that it becomes a soap opera instead of a show about medicine. In the end it'll probably get cancelled because it's on opposite the Amazing Race and everyone and their mother watches that stupid reality race crap. Which makes me sad. Isn't reality TV over yet? I am a steadfast Survivor fan, but really. If I have to watch another episode of The Apprentice I will stick a goddamn compass in my eye. I was reading something on the weekend about a reality show about interior decorating? Where people get voted off based on their design ideas? Good lord! I bet you $10 right now that when Martha gets out of jail she'll have her own reality show. Mark my words.

And now I'm one of those people who talks about television in their online diaries.

*hangs head in shame*

8:18 a.m. - 03.16.05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

theotherman
dulligirl
marn
narcissa
natty-kate